YPK Names Finalists for 2016 Impact Awards

Young Professionals of Knoxville (YPK) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 4th Annual YPK Impact Awards, an honor given to local businesses and individuals as recognition for their support and impact on young professionals in the Knoxville area.  Award recipients will be announced at the YPK Impact Awards Gala on November 18. Tickets are on sale for $40 to the public here.

In addition to three companies based on their impact in advancing young professionals, YPK will honor 6 individuals - 1 mentor, 5 young professionals – for their outstanding achievements.

Event Information:

  • Friday, November 18 at the Foundry
  • Cocktails at 6:30 p.m., program begins at 7:30
  • Attire is Casual Cocktail
  • Emcees: WBIR-TV’s Mary Scott and YPK President-Elect Alan Moore
  • Social Media Hashtag #YPKImpact

Mentor of the Year:

YPK is proud to honor Mr. Alvin Nance with the YPK Impact Award for Mentor of the Year. Alvin Nance is deeply rooted in the Knoxville community, having worked for several local and regional groups to help better the lives of his fellow citizens. He currently acts as Chief Executive Officer for LHP Capital, and was previously the Executive Director and CEO of Knoxville's Community Development Corporation. Alvin has spent decades dedicated to putting roofs over Knoxvillians’ heads and providing services to citizens that provide a hand up so they can thrive. Mr. Nance has mentored young professionals throughout his career, setting a strong example as a passionate, kind, and inspiring leader.

Individual Awards:

An Outstanding Young Professional is defined as young professional (age 23-40) working and/or living in the Knoxville area who has contributed to making their community a better place. He or she gives back to the community and has achieved a certain level of accomplishment in his/her professional field. This young professional exemplifies leadership, vision, and inspires those around him/her to leave a lasting impact.

Finalists for the Top 5 Outstanding Young Professionals are:

  • Rhoni Basden, Girls, Inc.
  • Andy Lowe, LBMC
  • Jeennyfer Castellanos, King University
  • Denetria Moore, Girl Talk, Inc.
  • Amie Cohorst, 21st Mortgage
  • Brandon Parks, IMG Vol-Network
  • Samantha Edwards, IMG Vol-Network
  • Erin Rosolina, Goodwill Industries- Knoxville, Inc.
  • Becca Habegger, WBIR-TV Channel 10
  • Rachel Rui, University of Tennessee
  • Jenny Heaton, Goodwill Industries – Knoxville, Inc.
  • Syreeta Vaughn, CNS Y-12 National Security Complex
  • Odessa Nicole Hight, HGTV (Scripps Networks Interactive)
  • Melanie Vincent, Volunteer Knoxville
  • Michael Leventhal, Men’s Health Network
  • Kayla Witt, Knoxville Chamber

Impactful Business Awards:

The Impact Award honors companies in three categories based on size, impact, philosophy, community involvement and overall leadership of young professionals. The award will be given to one small business (under 50 employees), one large business (more than 50 employees) and a nonprofit organization.

Finalists for the Top Business/Organization are:

  • Large Company: Covenant Health, Pilot Flying J, TeamHealth        
  • Small Company: Axle Logistics, Crowe Horwath LLC, WellKey Urgent Care         
  • Nonprofit Organization: Goodwill Industries-Knoxville, Inc., The Knoxville Fellows, Volunteer Tennessee (formerly Volunteer Knoxville)       

Past Recipients:

2015 YPK Impact Award recipients include: Claris Networks, Pyxl, Inc., Knoxville Chamber. The 2015 inaugural Mentor of the Year award was presented to Mr. Bill Regas.

2015 Outstanding Young Professionals were:

  • Stephanie Strutner, Allies for Substance Abuse Prevention of Anderson County
  • Kara McFarland, WBIR-TV
  • Tiffany McGee, Radio Systems Corp.
  • Sarah Herron, Alliance for Better Nonprofits
  • Nathan Woods, The Trust Company

2014 YPK Impact Award recipients include: tnAchieves, AC Entertainment, Pugh CPAs, 21st Mortgage.  2013 YPK Impact Award recipients include: Girl Scout Council of Southern Appalachia, DesignSensory, Lattimore, Black, Morgan & Cain (LBMC), U.S. Cellular.